The Australian National University (ANU) is a public research university located in Canberra, Australia. It is the only university in the world to be led by a Nobel Laureate. Professor Brian Schmidt AC won the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics. ANU is considered one of the world’s leading research universities, and is ranked as the number one university in Australia by the 2022 QS World University Rankings. ANU is the founding partner of the elite International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU).

Key Research Areas

  • Culture, creativity and societies: Understanding cultures and the complex relationships in societies (Humanities, Indigenous Studies, Social Sciences, Social Structures and Processes, the Arts).
  • Environment and sustainability: Sustainable use of resources in Australia and the world (Biodiversity, Climate Change, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Energy Alternatives, Resource and Environmental Management).
  • Future security: A secure, stable and equitable world for all people (Food Security, Resilience and Adaptation, Secure Networks, Security Policy, Strategy and Defence).
  • Health and medicine: Better health for our people, our nation, and our world (Combating Diseases and Conditions, Health Policy, Mental Health and Cognition, Population Health).
  • Our regional and global context: Engagement and influence in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond (Asia and Pacific Countries, Economic Growth and Wellbeing, International Studies, Northern Australia, Political Sciences, Prosperity in our Region, Regulation, Justice and Law).
  • Science and innovative technology: Solving deep problems through blue-sky and applied scientific research (Earth Sciences, Enabling Science, Information Age, New Materials and Processes, Physics and Engineering, Space Sciences).


Top 5 Research Achievements

  • Vice Chancellor and President Professor Brian Schmidt AC shared the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics for his discovery of the acceleration of the expansion of the universe.
  • Professor Peter Doherty AC and Professor Rolf Zinkernagel AC shared the 1996 Nobel Prize in Medicine for thier discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence.
  • Professor John Harsanyi shared the 1994 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games.
  • Sir John Eccles AC shared the 1963 Nobel Prize in Medicine for discoveries concerning the ionic mechanisms involved in excitation and inhibition in the peripheral and central portions of the nerve cell membrane.
  • Lord Howard Florey OM shared the Nobel Prize in Medicine for the discovery of penicillin and its curative effect in various infectious diseases.



  • 2015 Research Students
  • 1936 Research Staff/Supervising academics


  • More funding information and application deadline available here.
  • Prospective students can apply for scholarships for research study, or competitive grants as a professional researcher. More information